June 29, 2016

Les Bon Hommes Du Nord: Patrick Ross and Jean Theroux

French-Canadian Fiddle Music & Songs from New Hampshire
Event Date: 2012/08/08 Running Time: 61 minutes

Patrick Ross and Jean Theroux present a program of fiddle tunes and songs drawn from their French-Canadian heritage. They will be joined by Dalton Binette and Bow Thayer. All four musicians hail from the northernmost area of New Hampshire, adjacent to the Canadian border, across which people and cultural influences have flowed steadily over the last hundred years or more. The fiddle, accordion, and guitar are the most common instruments used in French-Canadian music. The playing style is spirited and based upon rhythmic patterns of the Celtic world: jigs, reels, and waltzes. However, the music is not exactly Celtic: the bowing style has a different swing and the tunes are ornamented in a distinctive way. Singing in the French language with family and friends is also an important part of French-Canadian musical heritage, and many of the songs are classified as "chansons á rèpondre," or "call and response," a style developed so a large group can join in the fun without knowing all the words.

The Library of Congress  For more information, visit at the Library of Congress Webcast Site

June 26, 2016

Blue Grass Special: Don Reno and Red Smiley / The Stanley Brothers

Angel Records HV-1048

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: JP
Released: March 1960
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Bluegrass
A1 Dixie Brakdown (2:20) *
A2 Haw Mountain Girls Can Love (2:05) **
A3 Let's Live For Tonight (2:21) *
A4 Train 45 (2:40) **
A5 Tree Of Life (2:42) *
A6 Mastertone March (2:23) **
B1 Charlotte Brakdown (2:20) *
B2 Think Of What You've Done (2:06) **
B3 How I Miss My Darling Mother (2:36) *
B4 Clinch Mountain Backstep (2:18) **
B5 Love Me Darling Just Tonight (2:15) **
B6 Springtime In Heaven (2:38) *
* Don Reno and Red Smiley and the Tennessee Cut-Ups
** The Stanley Brothers and the Clinch Mountain Boys
Carter Stanley (guitar/vocals) Ralph Stanley (banjo/vocals)
Made in Japan by Toshiba Musical Industries LTD.

June 20, 2016

Willie Nelson: My Own Way

RCA Victor AHL1-4819

Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Reissue
Country: US
Released: 1983
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Country
A1 I'm A Memory (2:24)
A2 My Own Peculiar Way (2:57)
A3 Both Sides Now (2:58)
A4 Funny How Timw Slips Away (2:41)
A5 Hello Walls (2:13)
B1 One In A Row (2:32)
B2 Stay Away From Lonely Places (2:58)
B3 Pins And Needles (In My Heart) (3:31)
B4 Rainy Day Blues (3:13)

June 19, 2016

Doc Watson & Son 1965

Vanguard VSD-79170

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo
Country: US
Released: 1965
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Country Blues, Folk
A1 Muskrat (2:51)
A2 Weary Blues (2:10)
A3 Medley (2:09)
A4 Dream Of The Miner's Child (2:45)
A5 Rising Sun Blues (4:17)
A6 Mama Blues (2:18)
A7 We Shall All Be Reunited (2:10)
B1 Little Stream Of Whiskey (2:25)
B2 Little Sadie (2:57)
B3 Beaumont Rag (1:37)
B4 Otto Wood The Bandit (3:14)
B5 Faithful Soldier (3:09)
B6 Memphis Blues (1:32)
B7 Gonna Lay Down My Old Guitar (2:06)
Doc Watson (guitar/12-string guitar/harmonica/vocals) Merle Watson (2nd guitar)
Design: Jules Halfant, Liner Notes: Ralph Rinzler, Photography: David Gahr

June 9, 2016

The Very Best Of Dolly Parton

Sony BMG Music Entertainment 88697060742

Format: CD, Compilation
Country: Europe
Released: 06 Mar 2007
Genre: Rock, Pop
Style: Country Rock, Pop Rock
01 9 To 5 (3:00)
02 I Will Always Love You (2:55)
03 Islands In The Stream (4:10)
04 Jolene (2:41)
05 Coat Of Many Colors (3:05)
06 My Tennessee Mountain Home (3:07)
07 Here You Come Again (2:54)
08 Baby I'm Burning (2:37)
09 Love Is Like A Butterfly (2:21)
10 The Bargain Store (2:42))
11 Potential New Boyfriend (3:35
12 Everything's Beautiful (In It's Own Way) (3:16)
13 Silver Threads And Golden Needles (2:25)
14 To Know Him Is To Love Him (3:50)
15 Why'd You Come In Here Lookin' Like That (2:33)
16 Romeo (3:34)
17 Tennessee Homesick Blues (3:23)
18 Dumb Blonde (2:29)
19 Applejack (3:25)
20 Old Flames Can't Hold A Candle To You (3:24)
Liner Notes: Patrick Bingley, 2004

June 7, 2016

Rock Of Ages: Tennessee Ernie Ford

Pickwick SPC-3353

Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Country: US
Genre: Pop, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Religious
A1 Rock Of Ages (2:44)
A2 We Gather Together (1:42)
A3 He Knows What I Need (2:27)
A4 Just Over In The Gloryland (2:17)
A5 On The Jericho Road (2:31)
B1 Just A Little Talk With Jesus (2:55)
B2 Must Jesus Bear The Cross Alone? (2:56)
B3 God Of Our Fathers (2:44)
B4 A Mighty Fortress Is Our God (2:57)

June 5, 2016

Etienne Charles: Creole Soul at the Library of Congress

Event Date: 2015/05/29 Running Time: 66 minutes

Description: With his Creole Soul project, trumpeter Etienne Charles explores the musical connections between Afro-Caribbean, Creole, New Orleans and American traditions.

Speaker Biography: A native of Trinidad, trumpeter Etienne Charles studied with Marcus Roberts and has performed or recorded with Monty Alexander, Roberta Flack, Wynton Marsalis, Maria Schneider and the Count Basie Orchestra.

The Library of Congress  For more information, visit a the Library of Congress Webcast Site