July 29, 2016

A Concert Featuring the Cheick Hamala Diabate Ensemble

Event Date: 2016/03/23 Running Time: 62 minutes

Cheick Hamala Diabate Ensemble
Cheick Hamala Diabate is a West African historian in the griot tradition, a sought after performer, lecturer, storyteller and choreographer. Diabate was born into a griot family in Kita, Mali. In West African tradition, the griot is a male troubadour-historian whose hereditary role is to preserve and share the history, genealogy and oral traditions of his people, as well as providing advice and practicing diplomacy.

The Library of Congress
For transcript, captions, and more information, visit at the Library of Congress Webcast Site

July 27, 2016

Dolly Parton: Coat Of Many Colors 1971

RCA Victor LSP-4603

Format: Vinyl, LP, Reissue, Stereo, 180 gram
Country: Europe
Released: 01 Feb 2016
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Country
A1 Coat Of Many Colors (3:02)
A2 Traveling Man (2:38)
A3 My Blue Tears (2:14)
A4 If I Lose My Mind (2:26)
A5 The Mystery Of The Mystery (2:24)
B1 She Never Met A Man (She Didn't Like) (2:40)
B2 Early Morning Breeze (2:53)
B3 The Way I See You (2:43)
B4 Here I Am (3:17)
B5 A Better Place To Live (2:39)
Dolly Parton (vocals/liner notes)
Producer: Bob Ferguson, Engineer: Al Pachucki, Recording Technician: Roy Shockley, Photographer: Les Leverett
Originally Released in 1971

Movie Film  The official trailer "Coat of Many Colors" for Dolly Parton NBC Movie

July 26, 2016

Blues Rediscoveries 1966

RBF Records RBF-11

Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Country: US
Released: 1966
Genre: Blues, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Country Blues, Delta Blues
A1 Ain't No Tellin': Mississippi John Hurt
A2 Avalon Blues: Mississippi John Hurt
A3 Sleepy Man Blues: Bukka White
A4 Aberdeen, Mississippi Blues: Bukka White
A5 Poor Man Blues: Henry Townsend
A6 Poor Man's Friend: John Estes
A7 Liquor Store Blues: John Estes
B1 Oh Lord Search My Heart: Blind Gary Davis
B2 You Got To Go Down: Blind Gary Davis
B3 Doin' Wrong: Peg Leg Howell
B4 Jelly Roll: Furry Lewis
B5 Sweet Papa Moan: Furry Lewis
B6 Highway 49: Big Joe Williams
B7 Someday Baby: Big Joe Williams
Mississippi John Hurt (guitar/vocals)
Compiled and Edited: Samuel B. Charters, Designer: Ronald Clyne, Photographer: Ann Charters

July 21, 2016

Elvis Country: I'm 10,000 Years Old

RCA SHP-6182

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: Japan
Released: 05 May 1971
Genre: Rock, Country, World
Style: Country Rock, Rock & Roll, Classic Rock
A1 Snowbird (2:04)
A2 Tomorrow Never Comes (3:53)
A3 Little Cabin On The Hill (1:45)
A4 Whole Lot-ta Shakin' Goin' On (3:00)
A5 Funny How Time Slips Away (4:20)
A6 I Really Don't Want To Know (2:45)
B1 There Goes My Everything (2:55)
B2 It's Your Baby, You Rock It (2:56)
B3 The Fool (2:26)
B4 Faded Love (3:04)
B5 I Washed My Hands In Muddy Water (3:41)
B6 Make The World Go Away (3:34)
Elvis Presley (vocals)
Backing Vocals: The Imperials Quartet (tracks: A2, A5, A6, B1, B6)
Arranged Strings: Cam Mullins (tracks: A2, A6, B1), Don Tweedy (tracks: A1, A5, B6)
Manufactured: Victor Company Of Japan, Ltd.

July 16, 2016

Old-Time Southern Dance Music: Ballads and Songs

Old Timey Records LP-102

Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation
Country: US
Released: 1965
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Old Time
A1 Rose Conley: Grayson & Whitter
A2 Pretty Polly: Coon Creek Gals
A3 Little Maggie: Grayson & Whitter
A4 That Fatal Courtship: Ephraim Woodie
A5 Frankie Silvers: Byrd Moore's Hot Shots
A6 Black Jack David: Cliff Carlisle
A7 Old Ruben: Wade Mainer
A8 Handsome Molly: Grayson & Whitter
B1 It's Hard To Leave You, Sweet Love: Lewis McDaniel & Gid Smith
B2 Franklin Roosevelt's Back Again: Bill Cox & Cliff Hobbs
B3 Roy Dixon: Jimmy Tarlton
B4 School House Fire: Dixon Brothers
B5 A Little Love: Wade Mainer
B6 Deep Elm Blues: Lone Star Cowboys*
B7 Frankie Dean : Darby & Tarlton
B8 On The Old Plantation: Blue Sky Boys
Liner Notes: Tony Brown, Editor's Note: Chris Strachwitz

July 1, 2016

Dolly Parton: The Grass Is Blue

Sugar Hill Record SUG-CD-3900

Format: CD, Album
Country: US
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Bluegrass
01 Travelin' Prayer (4:15)
02 Cash On The Barrelhead (3:07)
03 A Few Old Memories 4:01
04 I'm Gonna Sleep With One Eye Open (3:04)
05 Steady As The Rain (3:04)
06 I Still Miss Someone (3:37)
07 Endless Stream Of Tears (2:39)
08 Silver Dagger (4:54)
09 Train, Train (2:49)
10 I Wonder Where You Are Tonight (3:13)
11 Will He Be Waiting For Me (3:25)
12 The Grass Is Blue (3:43)
13 I Am Ready (2:44)
Dolly Parton (vocals) Jim Mills (banjo) Jerry Douglas (dobro) Stuart Duncan (fiddle) Bryan Sutton (guitar) Sam Bush (mandolin) Barry Bales (bass)
Designer: Sue Meyer Design, Musical Director: Jerry Douglas, Engineer: Chuck Turner and Toby Seay, Photographer: Dennis Carney, Producer: Steve Buckingham